Africa First Programme winners (2011)
octobre 2011 | Palmarès | Cinéma/TV | Afrique du Sud


The 2011 winners of Focus Features’ Africa First Program for Short Films are Oshosheni Hiveluah (Namibia); Cedric Ido (Burkina Faso); Mark Middlewick (South Africa); Akosua Adoma Owusu (Ghana); and Zelalem Woldemariam (from Ethiopia).

They will each receive ,000 in financing for their short film projects. This is the fourth consecutive year that Focus Features has run its Africa First Programme for short films for emerging filmmakers of African nationality and residence.
Says Focus CEO James Schamus: « I’m continually impressed by the range of great young artists we meet through Africa First – each filmmaker has a distinctive vision and voice, and I look forward to learning from them at our summit. »

Producer Kisha Cameron-Dingle, who serves as program director of Africa First, added, « We are particularly proud of the diversity and ambition in this year’s solid group, with new storytellers coming from several countries contributing to the program for the first time. »

The ,000 awarded to each winner is for pre-production, production, and / or post-production on their narrative short film made in continental Africa and tapping into the resources of the film industry there.

READ MORE (follow the link) on SCREEN AFRICA
Partager :