Fiche Film
MOYEN Métrage | 2016
Queen Sugar
Pays concerné : États-Unis
Durée : 42 minutes
Genre : drame
Type : série TV


Suite au tragique décès de leur père, trois frère et sœurs doivent unir leurs forces pour reprendre les rennes de la ferme familiale de canne à sucre

Une série tv créée par Ava DuVernay

Etats-Unis, 2016, Série télé, 42 mins par épisode, Drame / Famille

avec Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Tina Lifford

Productrices Déléguées : Oprah Winfrey, Ava DuVernay

Saison 1 (2016) : 13 épisodes
Saison 2 (2017) : 16 épisodes
Saison 3 (2018) :
Saison 4 : annoncée en août 2018 (date de diffusion non encore connue)


Acteurs et actrices
Rutina Wesley→ Nova Bordelon
Dawn-Lyen Gardner→ Charley Bordelon West
Kofi Siriboe→ Ralph Angel Bordelon
Tina Lifford→ Violet Bordelon
Omar J. Dorsey→ Hollywood Desonier
Dondre Whitfield→ Remy Newell
Timon Kyle Durrett→ Davis West
Greg Vaughan→ Calvin
Marycarmen Lopez→ Reyna Velez
Bianca Lawson→ Darla
Nicholas L. Ashe→ Micah West
Estrella Nouri→ Melina Gold
David Jensen→ Samuel Landry
Anthony Michael Frederick→ Melvin LaSalle
Anthony Marble→ Frank Rovner
Tony Winters→ Clive
Denise’Dee’ Bonclair→ Betty Jeune
Henry G. Sanders→ Prosper Denton
Rudy Eisenzopf→ George Barnes
Edgar Arreola→ Miguel
Miles Mussenden→ Boogie
True O’Brien→ Stella
Hakim Callender→ Andre All Day
Tobias Forrest→ Mr. Clemeaux
Adella Gautier→ Vieille dame
Kristin Daniel→ Étudiante
Dijon Talton→ Vance Mitchell
Gralen Bryant Banks→ Ed Price
Michael Buonomo→ Reporter sportif
Glynn Turman→ Ernest Bordelon
Alma Martinez→ Rocky Ortiz
Isaac White→ Too Sweet
Gwendolyn Mulamba→ Althea
Al Vicente→ Deputy Leland Conroe
Mike Mayhall→ Deputy McGill
Luke Sexton→ Bruce Benson
Jeph Cangé→ Kenneth
Vivian Fleming-Alvarez→ Avocate
Oscar Gale→ Anthony
Gregory Albrecht→ Hank Ramirez
Brian Stapf→ Wade Padrutt
Deric Augustine→ Felix
Jeff Grays→ Dayo Simmons
Sylvia Grace Crim→ Réceptionniste
Frankie Cedano→ Arturo

Tina Mabry
Ava DuVernay
Anthony Sparks
Denise Harkavy
Kay Oyegun

Tina Mabry
Ava DuVernay
Neema Barnette
Salli Richardson
Kat Candler
Victoria Mahoney
Tanya Hamilton
Kim So-yong


Two daughters trying to make their fathers proud.

Two sisters, Nova Bordelon, a formidable journalist and activist from New Orleans, and Charley Bordelon, a modern woman, who, with her teenaged son Micah, leaves her upscale home in Los Angeles and moves to the heart of Louisiana to claim an inheritance from her recently departed father – an 800-acre sugarcane farm; and their brother Ralph Angel, a single father struggling with unemployment and an absentee, recovering drug-addict mother of his child.

TV Series created by Ava DuVernay, Oprah Winfrey

USA, 2016, TV Series, 42 mins, Drama / Family

starring Rutina Wesley, Dawn-Lyen Gardner, Kofi Siriboe, Tina Lifford

Ava’s acclaimed series airs Wednesday at 10|9c on OWNTV (Oprah Winfrey Network TV).

American drama television series created and executive produced by Ava DuVernay, with Oprah Winfrey serving as an executive producer. DuVernay also directs many episodes.
The series is based on the novel Queen Sugar, by Natalie Baszile.
The series airs on Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) and premiered on September 6, 2016.

Series overview
Season 1
13 Episodes
First aired: September 6, 2016
Last aired: November 30, 2016

Season 2
16 Episodes
First aired: June 20, 2017
Last aired: November 15, 2017

Season 3
TBA Episodes
First aired: May 29, 2018
Last aired: TBA

Season 4:
In August 2018, OWN renewed the series for a fourth season.

Accolades / AWARDS

2018 | 49th NAACP Image Awards, USA
* Nominated: Outstanding Drama Series (Queen Sugar)
* Nominated: Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series (Kofi Siriboe)
* Nominated: Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series (Rutina Wesley)
* Nominated: Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series (Dondre Whitfield)
* Nominated: Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series (Tina Lifford)

2017 | Hollywood Music in Media Awards, USA
* Nominated: Original Score – TV Show/Limited Series (Meshell Ndegeocello)

2017 | 48th NAACP Image Awards, USA
* Won: Outstanding Drama Series (Queen Sugar)
* Nominated: Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series (Kofi Siriboe)
* Nominated: Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series (Rutina Wesley)
* Won: Outstanding Writing in a Dramatic Series (Ava DuVernay, for « First Things First »)
* Nominated: Outstanding Writing in a Dramatic Series (Anthony Sparks, for « By Any Chance »)
Partager :