Fiche Structure
Cinéma/TV Arts plastiques
MoMA (Museum of Modern Art)
Adresse : 11 West 53 Street NY 10019 NEW YORK
Pays concerné : États-Unis
Téléphone(s) : +1 (212) 708-9400
Site web :



The Museum of Modern Art is a place that fuels creativity, ignites minds, and provides inspiration. With extraordinary exhibitions and the world’s finest collection of modern and contemporary art, MoMA is dedicated to the conversation between the past and the present, the established and the experimental. Our mission is helping you understand and enjoy the art of our time.

Mission Statement
Founded in 1929 as an educational institution, The Museum of Modern Art is dedicated to being the foremost museum of modern art in the world.

Through the leadership of its Trustees and staff, The Museum of Modern Art manifests this commitment by establishing, preserving, and documenting a permanent collection of the highest order that reflects the vitality, complexity and unfolding patterns of modern and contemporary art; by presenting exhibitions and educational programs of unparalleled significance; by sustaining a library, archives, and conservation laboratory that are recognized as international centers of research; and by supporting scholarship and publications of preeminent intellectual merit.

Central to The Museum of Modern Art’s mission is the encouragement of an ever-deeper understanding and enjoyment of modern and contemporary art by the diverse local, national, and international audiences that it serves.

To achieve its goals The Museum of Modern Art recognizes:
That modern and contemporary art originated in the exploration of the ideals and interests generated in the new artistic traditions that began in the late nineteenth century and continue today.
That modern and contemporary art transcend national boundaries and involve all forms of visual expression, including painting and sculpture, drawings, prints and illustrated books, photography, architecture and design, and film and video, as well as new forms yet to be developed or understood, that reflect and explore the artistic issues of the era.
That these forms of visual expression are an open-ended series of arguments and counter arguments that can be explored through exhibitions and installations and are reflected in the Museum’s varied collection.
That it is essential to affirm the importance of contemporary art and artists if the Museum is to honor the ideals with which it was founded and to remain vital and engaged with the present.
That this commitment to contemporary art enlivens and informs our evolving understanding of the traditions of modern art.
That to remain at the forefront of its field, the Museum must have an outstanding professional staff and must periodically reevaluate itself, responding to new ideas and initiatives with insight, imagination, and intelligence. The process of reevaluation is mandated by the Museum’s tradition, which encourages openness and a willingness to evolve and change.

In sum, The Museum of Modern Art seeks to create a dialogue between the established and the experimental, the past and the present, in an environment that is responsive to the issues of modern and contemporary art, while being accessible to a public that ranges from scholars to young children.


Honorary Chairman
David Rockefeller

Honorary Chairman
Ronald S. Lauder

Chairman Emeritus
Robert B. Menschel

President Emerita
Agnes Gund

President Emeritus
Donald B. Marron

Jerry I. Speyer

Marie-Josée Kravis

Vice Chairmen
Sid R. Bass
Leon D. Black
Mimi Haas
Richard E. Salomon

Glenn D. Lowry

Richard E. Salomon

Assistant Treasurer
James Gara

Patty Lipshutz

Wallis Annenberg / Sid R. Bass / Lawrence B. Benenson / Leon D. Black / Clarissa Alcock Bronfman / Donald L. Bryant, Jr. / Patricia Phelps de Cisneros / Paula Crown / David Dechman / Joel S. Ehrenkranz / John Elkann / Laurence D. Fink / Kathleen Fuld / Howard Gardner / Vartan Gregorian / Anne Dias Griffin / Agnes Gund / Mimi Haas / Alexandra A. Herzan / Marlene Hess / Jill Kraus / Marie-Josée Kravis / Ronald S. Lauder / Thomas H. Lee / Michael Lynne / Donald B. Marron / Philip S. Niarchos / James G. Niven / Peter Norton / Maja Oeri / Michael S. Ovitz / Richard D. Parsons / Emily Rauh Pulitzer / David Rockefeller, Jr. / Sharon Percy Rockefeller / Richard E. Salomon / Anna Marie Shapiro / Anna Deavere Smith / Jerry I. Speyer / Ricardo Steinbruch / Edgar Wachenheim III / Thomas W. Weisel / Gary Winnick

Life Trustees
Celeste Bartos
Eli Broad
Thomas S. Carroll
Douglas Cramer
Gianluigi Gabetti
Barbara Jakobson
Werner H. Kramarsky
June Noble Larkin
Robert B. Menschel
Peter G. Peterson
Gifford Phillips
David Rockefeller
Joanne M. Stern
Jeanne C. Thayer
Joan Tisch

Honorary Trustees
Lin Arison
Mrs. Jan Cowles
Lewis B. Cullman
H.R.H. Duke Franz of Bavaria
Maurice R. Greenberg
Wynton Marsalis
Richard E. Oldenburg*
Mrs. Milton Petrie
Lord Rogers of Riverside
Ted Sann
Gilbert Silverman
Yoshio Taniguchi
David Teiger
Eugene V. Thaw


Glenn D. Lowry

Agnes Gund
Chairman of the Board of MoMA P.S.1

Michael R. Bloomberg
Mayor of the City of New York

Susan K. Freedman
Mayor’s Designee

John C. Liu
Comptroller of the City of New York

Chung Seto
Comptroller’s Designee

Christine C. Quinn
Speaker of the Council of the City of New York

Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel
Speaker’s Designee

Sharon Percy Rockefeller
President of the International Council

Franny Heller Zorn and William S. Susman
Co-Chairmen of The Contemporary Arts Council

*Director Emeritus


10:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

10:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.


10:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.

10:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.
(Open until 8:45 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month and every Thursday in July and August)

10:30 a.m.-8:00 p.m.

10:30 a.m.-5:30 p.m.