Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) 2017
38ème édition


The Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) invites filmmakers from across the world to submit their Short, Documentary or Feature Fiction films to screen in the festival from 13-23 July 2017. The 38th edition of the festival is organized by the University of KwaZulu-Natal’s Centre for Creative Arts in partnerships with the Durban Film Office, eThekwini Municipality, National Film and Video Foundation, KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission and other valued funders and partners.

With screenings of cutting-edge cinema from around the world, with special focus on both South African and African films, the festival exhibits films in a range of diverse venues in and around the city of Durban. DIFF is a premiere platform for the launch of African films and a key gateway to the African film industry. The festival also includes an annual local and international awards component.

This year the festival will shine a light upon the ever expanding trend in cinema highlighting the refugee or immigrant stories with our Transit Tales. As the global society expands further every year, cinema has highlighted the stories of subjects as they chase their hopes and dreams for their lives in a new and sometimes unknown land. The festival is looking for feature, shorts and documentaries that chronicle such stories from various corners of the globe.

Durban International Film Festival

Opening film :
Serpent / Director: Amanda Evans Producer: Greig Buckle

Closing Night film :
ASINAMALI / Director: Mbongeni NGEMA Producers: Mbongeni NGEMA, Darrell Roodt, Christianne Bennetto

2017 Films in Competition – Features
The Wound, by John Trengove (South Africa, germany, Netherlands and France) 2016
Basta, by Hassane Dahani (Morocco) 2016
Light in the Dark by Kaoula Assebab (Morocco) 2016
La Soledad, by Jorge Thielen Armand (Canada) 2016
Beauty and the Dog, by Kaouther Ben Hania (Tunisia, France, Sweden, Norway, Lebanon, Qatar and Switzerland) 2017
Caretaker, by Alejandro Andújar (Dominican Republic, Brazil and Puerto Rico) 2017
Asinamali, by Mbongeni Ngema (South Africa) 2017
Serpent, by Amanda Evans (South Africa) 2017
Liyana, by Aaron kopp and Amanda kopp (Swaziland, united States, Qatar) 2017

2017 Films in Competition – Documentaries
Hidden Photos, by Davide grotta (Italy) 2016
Strike a Rock, by Aliki Saragas (South Africa) 2017
Mama Colonel, by Dieudo Hamadi (France and Congo – Kinshasa) 2017
Camhilos, by Dairo Cervantes (Colombia, Mexico and Argentina) 2016
Waithira, by Eva Munyiri (South Africa) 2017
Dusk Chorus, by Nika Šaravanja and Alessandro D’emilia (Italy) 2016
Skulls of my People, by Vincent Moloi (South Africa) 2016

The Durban International Film Festival (DIFF) is proud to announce the participants of the 10th edition of Talents Durban and Talent Press.
Talents Durban is a five-day development programme presented in cooperation with Berlinale Talents, an initiative of the Berlin International Film Festival, made up of workshops and seminars for African filmmakers, delivered by film industry professionals and academics.
Talent Press is presented in cooperation with Fipresci, an association of national organizations of professional film critics and film journalists from around the world which lobbies for the promotion and development of film culture. The programme invites four critics to cover DIFF films and events for online and print publication.
After a rigorous selection process, 30 filmmakers and film critics from 19 countries across the continent made the cut:
Alaa Abdelrazek (Egypt)
Angela Wamai (Kenya)
Belinda Yanga (Nigeria)
Djia Mambu Nlandu (Democratic Republic of Congo)
Charles Mawungwa (Zimbabwe)
Christopher Sinclair Kets (South Africa)
Clare Louis (South Africa)
Domoina Marina Ratsarahaingotiana (Madagascar)
Gloria Huwiler (Zambia)
Gnignipoutya Cyrielle (Cameroon)
Harto Macharia (Kenya)
Imran Hamdulay (South Africa)
Jihene Ayari (Tunisia)
Jordan Ndawula (Uganda)
Lemohang Mosese (Lesotho)
Llewellyn James Rice (South Africa)
Marie Laurentine Bayala (Burkina Faso)
Mario Fradique Bastos (Angola)
Mia Cilliers (South Africa)
Mohamed Aly (Egypt)
Mohamed Suliman (Sudan)
Moreetsi Gabang (Botswana)
Nthabiseng Nontsikelelo Mosieane (South Africa)
Rama Thiaw (Senegal)
Selaelo Maabela (South Africa)
Samantha Nell (South Africa)
Samuel Joseph Akiwumi (Ghana)
Thembelihle Masache (South Africa)
Wilfred Okiche (Nigeria)
Yassine El Idrissi (Morocco)

Suncoast Casino
Ster-Kinekor Musgrave
Cinema Nouveau
Elangeni Hotel
KZNSA (Short Film Hub)
UKZN Sneddon Theatre

Luthuli Museum
eKhaya Multi-Arts Centre
Denis Hurley Centre
Bay of Plenty
Albert Park
Durban Music School
Sizakala Centre
Partager :