Festival International de film du Caire – CIFF 2017
39ème édition. 39th edition of Cairo International Film Festival dedicated to Shadia, Egyptian actress.


The 39th CIFF films screenings which will take place in 21-30 November 2017.

Le Festival du film international du Caire connaît un succès grandissant depuis sa création en 1976. Outre les compétitions traditionnelles, les divers hommages et la projection de films diversifiés, de nombreux séminaires abordent des thèmes contemporains. Chaque année, un pays et son industrie sont célébrés.

* Official Selection for feature and documentary films: International Competition

– The Golden Pyramid for best film, presented to the producer (The award should not be attributed ex-aequo).
– The Silver Pyramid, Special Jury Prize, for best director.
– The Bronze Pyramid for First or Second Work, for the director.
– Naguib Mahfouz Prize for best screenplay.
– Prize of the best actor.
– Prize of the best actress.
– Prize for best artistic contribution.
The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) will grant two prizes awarded by its jury that will comprise a president and two members. The prizes will be announced at the start of the closing ceremony of the festival.

– Hussein Fahmy, President
– Hany Abu-Assad, Member
– Franziska Petri, Member
– Fabienne Babe, Member
– Jack Lee, Member
– Khairy Beshara, Member
– Petr Vaclav, Member
– Scott Hillier, Member
– Isabelle Boni-Claverie, Member

Participated Films
– Wulu, By Daouda Coulibaly / France, Senegal, 2016
– Darkland, By Fenar Ahmad / Denmark, 2017
– Standing Tall, By Emmanuelle Bercot / France, 2015
– Girlhood (Bande de filles), By Céline Sciamma / France, 2014
– Corniche Kennedy, By Dominique Cabrera / France, 2016
– Camille Rewinds (Camille revient), By Noémie Lvovsky / France, 2012
– Bird People, By Pascale Ferran / France, 2014
– Age of Panic, By Justine Triet / France, 2013
– The Way Station, By Hong Anh / Vietnam, 2017
– Azerbaijan, By Ilgar Najaf / Azerbaijan, 2017
– Out, By György Kristóf / Slovakia, Hungary, Czech Republic, 2017
– Nina, By Juraj Lehotský / Slovak Republic, Czech Republic, 2017
– Los Perros, By Marcela Said / Chile, France, Argentine, Portugal, 2017
– The Sapphires, By Wayne Blair / Australia, 2012
– The Dressmaker, By Jocelyn Moorhouse / Australia, 2015
– Shine, By Scott Hicks / Australia, 1996
– Paper Planes, By Robert Connolly / Australia, Japan, 2014
– Moulin Rouge, By Baz Luhrmann / Australia, USA, 2001
– Mad Max, By George Miller / Australia, USA, 1979
– Lion, By Garth Davis / Australia, UK, USA, 2017
– Charlie’s Country, By Rolf de Heer / Australia, 2013
– Australia, By Baz Luhrmann / Australia, USA, UK, 2008
– Ali’s Wedding, By Jeffrey Walker / Australia, 2017
– A Certain Nasser, By Badih Massaad, Antoine Waked / Lebanon, 2017
– Skokan, By Petr Vaclav Sc / Czech Republic, France, 2017
– The Basics of killing, By Jan Cvitkovič / Slovenia, Serbia, 2017
– Sicilian Ghost Story, By Fabio Grassadonia, Antonio Piazza / Italy, France, Switzerland, 2017
– Jupiter‘s Moon, By Kornél Mundruczó / Hungary, Germany, 2017
– Emilia: Breaking Free, By Donatas Ulvydas / Lithuania, 2017
– The Intruder, By Leonardo Di Costanzo / Italy, Switzerland, France, 2017
– Insyriated, By Philippe Van Leeuw / Belgium, France, Lebanon, 2017

* Competition Horizons of New Arab Cinema Competition for feature and documentary films
The Jury will award the following prizes:
Saad Eldin Wahba Prize for Best Arabic Film, presented by the Egyptian Filmmakers Syndicate (EFMS).
Salah Abu Seif Prize for Best Artistic Contribution, presented by the Egyptian Filmmakers Syndicate (EFMS).

Ahmad Al Morsy, Member
Mahmoud Al Massad, Member
Rym Ben Messaoud, Member

Participated Films
Sweat Rain / By Hakim Belabbes / Morocco, 2016
Rain of Homs / By Joud Said / Syria, 2017
House in The Fields / By Tala Hadid / Morocco, 2017
Al Jaida / By Selma Baccar / Tunisia, 2017
Ghost Hunting / By Raed Andoni / France, Palestine, Switzerland, 2017

* International Critic’s Week Competition for feature and documentary films
The Jury will award the following prizes:
Shadi Abdel Salam Prize for Best Film, awarded to the director, presented by the Egyptian Film Critics Association (EFCA)
Fathy Farag Prize for Best Artistic Contribution, presented by the Egyptian Film Critics Association (EFCA)

Evangelia Kranioti, Member
Hossam Elouan, Member

* Cinema of Tomorrow International Competition (CTIC) for short films

The Jury will award the following prizes:
Youssef Chahine Prize for Best Short Film.
The Special Jury Prize.

Biyi Bandele, Member
Nisreen Faour, Member
Sherif El Bendary, Member

o Tributes
* Faten Hamama Honorary Award
* Faten Hamama Excellence Award

o Greetings to those we lost
* Critic: Samir Farid
* Actress: Jeanne Moreau
* Director: Jean Chamoun
* Director: Mohamed kamel El kalioby

CIFF President: Magda Wassef
Honourary President: Yousra
Partager :